Declutter 101: Handbags & Accessories

My handbags and accessories are an area, similar to my pantry, that I’ve hesitated to declutter. I’ve had no problem getting rid of things in my closet, but when it coms to my handbags especially, it’s difficult. A lot of my jewelry from Forever 21, H&M, etc., has been accumulated over the years, but I don’t really wear it. The main purpose of this declutter was to keep what I absolutely loved, donate what I didn’t use, and to toss any broken jewelry that I had hoarded.

PicMonkey Collage.jpgStarting off with my jewelry, I store my statement necklaces on a hook that hangs over my closet door. I’ve been using this system for years and the hooks were purchased from Family Dollar. You can find them just about anywhere. I had a lot of necklaces from Forever 21 that I had kept over the years, but it was time for me to keep what I actually used instead of keeping jewelry just to have a collection. I love necklaces more than any other form of jewelry so it wasn’t hard for me to downsize and keep my absolute favorites. My updated necklace collection is coming soon so stay tuned for that.

As for earrings, rings, etc., I don’t have many. I ended up throwing out all of my studs which was an impulse move. I just didn’t like any of the ones I had in this container. My rings went either in the trash or straight to the donate pile depending on how tarnished they were. All of the other jewelry was pretty much gifted and I have watches (in the Jewelmint box), Gucci shades and watch, plus some other pieces. I don;t reach for this jewelry aside from special occasions so it stays organized in this drawer organizer that I purchased years ago from Target.

IMG_2963.JPG

Handbags are my weakness and despite downsizing, I didn’t really give up that much in this declutter round. I had given bags away before and a lot were totes. The bags that I decided to give away were either because I had never worn them or I had another bag that would serve the exact purpose. My handbag collection is coming soon so stay tuned for that.

IMG_3027

As for everything I am donating it’s really been taking up entirely too much space. When it comes to accessories, you can easily be overwhelmed. You can keep buying what’s on trend or for a special occasion, but it can accumulate quickly. Keep what you love and don’t be afraid to donate. It’s ok to let go.

Below are links to storage used:

One thought on “Declutter 101: Handbags & Accessories

Leave a comment