Original v. Cover [V.1]: A Great Big World, ‘Say Something’

I mentioned in my recent Sunday Rant that I would be starting a  new series Original v. Cover which compares the original of the song with a cover. The covers can easily be found on YouTube. I was inspired by seeing two videos that stood out to me. One was a cover of ‘Drunk in Love’ and the other of ‘Say Something.’ The first two installments of this series will be discussing both songs.

‘Say Something’ is one of the most heart wrenching songs that I have heard in a long time. I never knew Christina Aguilera was on this track.The voices, the lyrics, the ambiance of the track is just amazing. I absolutely love the song and I’m upset with myself that it had taken me so long to discover it. Discover as in actually looking up the artist after I heard it countless times on the radio.

Now there are many covers to this song, as well as others, but one that stood out to me and that I think captured the song in a new way for me would have to be Pentatonix’s rendition. The layering of voices and the twist that they added to it gave a whole new life to the song and made me love it even more.

When it comes to my favorite rendition of the song it’s really a tie. This is a song that I can listen to over and over. I can’t count out the original because without it there would be no cover, BUT this cover is not to go unnoticed. Beautiful song and Pentatonix sure did do it justice. The fact that they were able to do this a capella was amazing. I absolutely love the layering.

 

One thought on “Original v. Cover [V.1]: A Great Big World, ‘Say Something’

Leave a comment